Tiger Queen – Blog Tour

 

TigerQueen-Cover.jpg

ratingiconratingiconratingiconratingicon

Synopsis:
From Annie Sullivan, author of A Touch of Gold, comes Tiger Queen, a sweeping YA fantasy adventure that tells the story of a fierce desert princess battling to save her kingdom. Fans of Rebel of the Sands and Meagan Spooner will devour this retelling of Frank Stockton’s famous short story, “The Lady, or the Tiger?”
In the mythical desert kingdom of Achra, an ancient law forces sixteen-year-old Princess Kateri to fight in the arena to prove her right to rule. For Kateri, winning also means fulfilling a promise to her late mother that she would protect her people, who are struggling through windstorms and drought. The situation is worsened by the gang of Desert Boys that frequently raids the city wells, forcing the king to ration what little water is left. The punishment for stealing water is a choice between two doors: behind one lies freedom, and behind the other is a tiger.
But when Kateri’s final opponent is announced, she knows she cannot win. In desperation, she turns to the desert and the one person she never thought she’d side with. What Kateri discovers twists her world—and her heart—upside down. Her future is now behind two doors—only she’s not sure which holds the key to keeping her kingdom and which releases the tiger.

Book Information:
By: Annie Sullivan
Publisher: BLINK
Release date: September 10, 2019
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Retelling, Romance

Book Links

GoodReads | Amazon US | Barnes&Noble | Book Depository

 

My Review

Reading the synopsis, I was like ‘all the yes’ a princess who battles her suitors in the arena? I mean it sounds pretty cool on that alone, but this book turned out to be so much more than just battling against suitors.

First of all battling the suitors showed that she was strong enough to lead on her own, to pick her own suitor, if she could beat them all for one year until her birthday is super cool.

Secondly, it wasn’t just about the fights.

This is a desert kingdom that has been through a drought and has strict water restrictions in place. What doesn’t help is the fact that so called Desert Boys are stealing the water from the citizens.

Kateri is determined to stop them, she promised her mother that she would take care of their people, but finding the leader of the Desert Boys is harder than anyone anticipated. In order to prove herself, she’s going to need help in battling her last opponent, but in order to defeat him, she may have to ally against another enemy.

Again, loved the premise of this! This is a awesome twist to ‘The Lady or the Tiger’ in my opinion.

Not only that but as tough as Kateri thinks she is, she has so much to learn and she is humble about it and I love that about her. I also love her misplaced love of her kingdom and people.

There’s a nice rich world built by Sullivan and the creatures in this desert kingdom were so much fun to read about. I would have to say as far as characters go, though I loved Kateri, I think I had the biggest soft spot for some of the Desert Boys.

The ending was supremely satisfying for me and though I wish I would have seen more of the king, to know more about his ambitions and workings, I was happy enough with the way this was. A nice full story, no loose ends and did I mention a warrior princess who is a sheltered cinnamon roll outside the arena?

Anyway, this is definitely four cups of coffee from me and I CANNOT wait to get my hands on my hardcopy preorder.

[Speaking of, if you look on my bookstagram later, you’ll see my awesome preorder swag from Sullivan]

Thank you to the publishers  and The Fantastic Flying Book Club for a chance to read and honestly review this, and not to mention joining in on the tour!

 

Favorite Quotes

_We only survive one day at a time. That's all we can do. That and celebrate our small victories._.png

_I'd always thought of them more as shackles than symbols of love._ (4).png

_I'd always thought of them more as shackles than symbols of love._ (1).png

_I'd always thought of them more as shackles than symbols of love._ (5).png

_I'd always thought of them more as shackles than symbols of love._ (3).png

_I would deal with him personally. I would be the desert's Justice Mighter than Any Tiger_ (1).png

[Reminder: These quotes were taken from my eARC copy and so may not be the same in the final copy!]

 

About the Author

AnnieSullivan-Photo

Annie Sullivan is a Young Adult author from Indianapolis, Indiana. Her work has been featured in Curly Red Stories and Punchnels. She loves fairytales, everything Jane Austen, and traveling and exploring new cultures. When she’s not off on her own adventures, she’s teaching classes at the Indiana Writers Center and working as the Copy Specialist at John Wiley and Sons, Inc. publishing company, having also worked there in Editorial and Publicity roles. You can follow her adventures on Twitter and Instagram (@annsulliva).

Author Links

Website | Twitter | Instagram

Giveaway

Prize: Tiger Queen poster and signed bookplate (USA only)
Starts: 9/4/19 | Ends:  9/13/19
Click Here for Giveaway Link

 

The Rest of the Tour

TigerQueen-TourBanner
[Click on picture to be taken to the tour’s schedule]

 

The Chosen – Blog Tour

book cover
ratingiconratingiconratingiconhafrating

Synopsis:
Introducing an epic new trilogy from Taran Matharu, author of the New York Times–bestselling Summoner series. 
Throughout history, people have vanished with no explanation. A group of teenagers are about to discover why.
Cade is settling into a new boarding school, contemplating his future, when he finds himself transported to another realm. He soon discovers their new world is populated with lost remnants from the past: prehistoric creatures, ancient relics, and stranger still — people. Overwhelmed by his new surroundings, Cade has little time to adjust, for soon he and his fellow classmates are forced to become contenders in a brutal game, controlled by mysterious overlords.
But who are these beings and why did they choose these teens? Cade must prepare for battle . . . because hiding is not an option.

Book Information
The Chosen (Contender #1)
by Taran Matharu
Publisher: Feiwel and Friends
Release Date: June 4th 2019
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Science Fiction

Book Links

GoodReadsAmazoniTunesB&NBook DepositoryKoboGoogle Books

 

My Review

Dinosaurs. If anyone knows a way to make me happy, add dinosaurs, I will faithfully read and love your book on that premise alone. Thankfully Matharu had some other points I really enjoyed about his novel so it wasn’t just the dinosaurs. [But I mean, come on, dinosaurs.]

Cade is a great protagonist, he is a history ‘nerd’ and someone who has kinda tried to stay out of the limelight but this doesn’t seem to particularly work for him as he ends up thrust into focus constantly.  The boarding school scenes are short and quickly disappear as the current situation of being in a new place that is possibly not even Earth just grows more and more ‘real’ to the students who have been placed in this predicament. Cade isn’t the only one, but, that may not necessarily be a good thing as at least one boy seems to have decided Cade is his target for bullying and now in a high stress situation, Cade is having to watch some of his fellow students and the other threats in this new place. [Did I mention dinosaurs?]

I loved the other cast of characters as well, in fact I would say that Quints and Spex were my favorites along with Grace, purely because she seems like she could kick so much butt and that is so cool, so I hope we learn more about her in book 2.

As noted this is the first book in a new series and the ending will certainly leave you wanting to read book two to find out what happens.

Besides the obvious parts I favored, I also enjoyed the history tidbits and the mystery of it all, it had some elements that slightly reminded me of Maze Runner but to Matharu’s credit, this is unlike any other plot I’ve encountered before. And this book was so quick to read as I just kept pressing for one more chapter to find out what on earth was going on/going to happen next.

I will say that I wish some other things had happened sooner than later in the novel as a lot is crammed in a little time and with how the ending is, I really wish that all of the teenagers would have known the purpose of it all as I feel like they deserved that much, I’d like to say more, but, spoilers! I also felt like though everything felt so quick there was a little too much build up for the end and as I said I thought those events should have shifted sooner, but, this is a perfect ending to leave us on edge to find out what happens in book 2. Well played Matharu, well played.

Cade and the others have some tough challenges to face and they’ll have to work together if they want to have any hope of going home. But will it be enough?

How long until book 2?? UGH.

Thanks to The Fantastic Flying Book Club, the publisher, and Matharu for the copy of the book and being part of the tour!

tNF0nfqg
Mood Board from the Author!

My Playlist

 

About the Author

AUTHOR

Taran Matharu is the New York Times bestselling author of the Summoner series, which has been translated into 15 languages and has sold over a million copies. He was born in London in 1990 and found a passion for writing during early adolescence, beginning his first book at 9 years old.
Straight after graduating with a First Class degree in Business Administration, Taran was keen to explore a new avenue and get inside the publishing world, landing an internship in Digital Sales at Penguin Random House, from June to September 2013. 
Thereafter, while taking time off to travel, Taran began to write ‘Summoner’ in November 2013 at the age of 22, taking part in ‘Nanowrimo 2013’ and sharing his work on Wattpad.com. The shared sample of the story went viral, reaching over 3 million reads in less than six months. Taran went on to launch his professional writing career, and has never looked back.
His SUMMONER series is published by Hodder Children’s (Hachette) in the UK, Australia and Commonwealth, Feiwel and Friends (Macmillan) in the US and Canada, Hachette Jeunesse in France, Heyne in Germany, Planeta in Spain, Crown in Taiwan, Record in Brazil, EKSMO in Russia, Jaguar in Poland, Ecliptic in Bulgaria, Alpress in the Czech Republic, Ithaki in Turkey, Forlaget Forar in Denmark and Unieboek in the Netherlands.

Author Links

WebsiteGoodReadsTwitterFacebook, Instagram

 

Rest of the Tour Schedule

[Click on the picture for the link to it]

TOUR BANNER