Categories
Book Review

And We Rise eARC Mini Review

A powerful, impactful, eye-opening journey that explores through the Civil Rights Movement in 1950s-1960s America in spare and evocative verse, with historical photos interspersed throughout. – GoodReads My Review A quick, informational and thought provoking read. The verse was easy to follow but at times I felt it could have been more, I don’t mean […]

Categories
Book Review

I Must Betray You eARC Review

Romania, 1989. Communist regimes are crumbling across Europe. Seventeen-year-old Cristian Florescu dreams of becoming a writer, but Romanians aren’t free to dream; they are bound by rules and force. – GoodReads My Review I suppose I’m not what one would call an emotional reader, I get teary eyed a lot but I rarely cry at […]

Categories
Book Review

I Get Loud Review

GoodReads: How do you use your voice, once you’ve finally found it? A young girl, growing in self-confidence, befriends a stranger who becomes her closest companion. Despite their differences, they speak and sing and laugh, their friendship weathering darkness and light, stormy seas and calm waters. But embarking on an uncertain journey to a new […]

Categories
Book Review

Empire of Gold eARC Review

    GoodReads: The final chapter in the bestselling, critically acclaimed Daevabad Trilogy, in which a con-woman and an idealistic djinn prince join forces to save a magical kingdom from a devastating civil war. Daevabad has fallen. After a brutal conquest stripped the city of its magic, Nahid leader Banu Manizheh and her resurrected commander, […]

Categories
Book Review

The City Among the Stars – Blog Tour

      GoodReads: First English translation of the celebrated Golden Age Science Fiction Classic. “This stunning classic stands shoulder-to-shoulder with Arthur C. Clarke, Asimov, and Heinlein. No devotee of great sf should miss The City of the Stars.” – New York Times and USA Today bestselling authors W. Michael Gear and Kathleen O’Neal Gear Tankar […]

Categories
Book Review

Home Games Review

      GoodReads: Award-winning adult author Benjamin Markovits delivers a poignant coming-of-age middle grade story that will give comfort to anyone feeling like a small fish in a Texas-size sea. Perfect for fans of Kevin Henkes, Rebecca Stead, and Kate DiCamillo. Twelve-year-old Ben is a shy, quiet kid. His life isn’t perfect, but he […]

Categories
Book Review

Night Spinner eARC Review

    GoodReads: Before the massacre at Nariin, Enebish was one of the greatest warriors in the Sky King’s Imperial Army: a rare and dangerous Night Spinner, blessed with the ability to control the threads of darkness. Now, she is known as Enebish the Destroyer―a monster and murderer, banished to a monastery for losing control […]

Categories
Book Review

The Stars We Steal Review

    GoodReads: Engagement season is in the air. Eighteen-year-old Princess Leonie “Leo” Kolburg, heir to a faded European spaceship, only has one thing on her mind: which lucky bachelor can save her family from financial ruin? But when Leo’s childhood friend and first love Elliot returns as the captain of a successful whiskey ship, […]

Categories
Book Review

An Echo of Scandal – Blog Tour

Synopsis: The sumptuous and seductive world of Tangier in the early 20th century is a world where men make decisions and women follow. But Alejandra is determined to secure her independence, at any cost.  In the dead of night, with blood on her hands, she made her escape.  Accused of murder, Alejandra flees her home, […]

Categories
Book Review

Meet Me in Monaco – Blog Tour

  GoodReads: Set in the 1950s against the backdrop of Grace Kelly’s whirlwind romance and glamourous wedding to Prince Rainier of Monaco, New York Times bestselling author Hazel Gaynor and Heather Webb take the reader on an evocative sun-drenched journey along the Côte d’Azur in this page-turning novel of passion, fate, and second-chances. Movie stars […]