Favorite SciFi Books: The Second Half Of 2019

 

These aren’t in any particular order than rating, and sometimes I enjoy a book that has a lower rating, idk, my rating system is very complicated. [ie: I don’t really know what I’m doing]

Clicking on the headline will take you to my review, and I’ve included GoodReads links if you click on the picture!

 

6. Station Fosaan – Blog Tour

Station Fosaan (Torch World, #1)

Hot_ChocolateHot_ChocolateHot_ChocolateHot_Chocolate

Earth scientists and their families stationed on the remote planet of Fosaan were promised a tropical vacation-like experience. But Fosaan, devastated from an apocalyptic event nearly three-hundred years ago, is full of lethal predators and dangerous terrain.

Earthers are forbidden to go beyond the safety zone of their settlement and must not engage the small population of reclusive Fosaanians, descendants of the survivors. Sixteen-year-old Quinn Neen plans to do both of those things.

When Quinn discovers a beautiful Fosaanian girl named Mira stealing food from his family’s living unit, he soon learns Earth’s government may not be telling the whole truth about Fosaan and the cause of the past disaster.

There are some who to restore the planet to its former glory by any means necessary. Quinn finds himself caught between his loyalty to his own people and what is right for Mira and her people.

Before he can decide what to do, the scientists are taken captive, stranding the young Earthers on Fosaan.

Quinn must go from renegade to leader and convince Mira to become an ally in a fight against an enemy whose very existence threatens their lives and the future of those both on Fosaan and at home.

 

5. A Boy and His Dog at the End of the World

A Boy and His Dog at the End of the World

Hot_ChocolateHot_ChocolateHot_ChocolateHot_ChocolateHot_Chocolate

When a beloved family dog is stolen, her owner sets out on a life-changing journey through the ruins of our world to bring her back in this fiercely compelling tale of survival, courage, and hope. Perfect for readers of Station Eleven and The Girl With All the Gifts.

My name’s Griz. My childhood wasn’t like yours. I’ve never had friends, and in my whole life I’ve not met enough people to play a game of football.

My parents told me how crowded the world used to be, but we were never lonely on our remote island. We had each other, and our dogs.

Then the thief came.

There may be no law left except what you make of it. But if you steal my dog, you can at least expect me to come after you.

Because if we aren’t loyal to the things we love, what’s the point?

 

4. A House of Rage and Sorrow

A House of Rage and Sorrow (The Celestial Trilogy, #2)

Hot_ChocolateHot_ChocolateHot_ChocolateHot_ChocolateHot_Chocolate

“Maybe it’s time the great House of Rey came to an end. After all, what are we now? Just a house of rage and sorrow.”

Esmae once wanted nothing more than to help her golden brother win the crown of Kali but that dream died with her best friend. Alexi broke her heart, and she vowed to destroy him for it. And with her sentient warship Titania beside her, how can she possibly fail?

As gods, beasts, and kingdoms choose sides, Alexi seeks out a weapon more devastating than even Titania. Past lives threaten the present. Old enemies claim their due. And Esmae cannot outrun the ghosts and the questions that haunt her. What really happened to her father? What was the third boon her mother asked of Amba? For in the shadows, lurking in wait, are secrets that will swallow her whole.

The House of Rey is at war. And the entire galaxy will bleed before the end. 

 

3. War Girls

War Girls (War Girls, #1)

Hot_ChocolateHot_ChocolateHot_ChocolateHot_Chocolate

Two sisters are torn apart by war and must fight their way back to each other in a futuristic, Black Panther–inspired Nigeria.

The year is 2172. Climate change and nuclear disasters have rendered much of earth unlivable. Only the lucky ones have escaped to space colonies in the sky.

In a war-torn Nigeria, battles are fought using flying, deadly mechs and soldiers are outfitted with bionic limbs and artificial organs meant to protect them from the harsh, radiation-heavy climate. Across the nation, as the years-long civil war wages on, survival becomes the only way of life.

Two sisters, Onyii and Ify, dream of more. Their lives have been marked by violence and political unrest. Still, they dream of peace, of hope, of a future together.

And they’re willing to fight an entire war to get there.

 

 

2. Doing Time

Doing Time (The Time Police #1)

Hot_ChocolateHot_ChocolateHot_ChocolateHot_ChocolateHot_Chocolate

Introducing The Time Police, the brand-new series byinternational bestselling author,Jodi Taylor – an irresistiblespinoff fromthe much-loved Chronicles of St Mary’s series. Perfect reading for fans of Doctor Who, Ben Aaronovitch and Jasper Fforde.
At some time in the future, the secret of time-travel became available to all. Chaos ensued as people sought to take advantage. Because there will always be nutters who want to change history…
And so the Time Police were formed. Internationally sanctioned thugs whose task it was to keep the timeline straight by any and all means possible. And they succeeded. The Time Wars are over. The Time Police won. But who will win the peace?
Doing Time follows three hapless new Time Police recruits – Jane, Luke and Matthew – as they try to navigate their first year on the beat. It’s all going to be fine. Obviously.

 

 

1. Trail of Lightning

Trail of Lightning (The Sixth World Book 1)

Hot_ChocolateHot_ChocolateHot_ChocolateHot_ChocolateHot_Chocolate

While most of the world has drowned beneath the sudden rising waters of a climate apocalypse, Dinétah (formerly the Navajo reservation) has been reborn. The gods and heroes of legend walk the land, but so do monsters.

Maggie Hoskie is a Dinétah monster hunter, a supernaturally gifted killer. When a small town needs help finding a missing girl, Maggie is their last—and best—hope. But what Maggie uncovers about the monster is much larger and more terrifying than anything she could imagine.

Maggie reluctantly enlists the aid of Kai Arviso, an unconventional medicine man, and together they travel to the rez to unravel clues from ancient legends, trade favors with tricksters, and battle dark witchcraft in a patchwork world of deteriorating technology.

As Maggie discovers the truth behind the disappearances, she will have to confront her past—if she wants to survive.

Welcome to the Sixth World.

[This was released this year in the UK]

 

 

Doing Time – Blog Tour

 

 

Doing Time Cover .jpg

ratingiconratingiconratingiconratingiconhafrating

Blurb:
Introducing The Time Police, the brand-new series by international bestselling
author, Jodi Taylor – an irresistible spinoff from the much-loved Chronicles of St
Mary’s series. Perfect reading for fans of Doctor Who, Ben Aaronovitch and Jasper
Fforde.
A long time ago in the future, the secret of time travel became known to all.
Everyone seized the opportunity – and the world nearly ended. There will
always be idiots who want to change history.
And so, the Time Police were formed. An all-powerful, international organisation
tasked with keeping the timeline straight. At all costs.
Their success is legendary, and the Time Wars are over. But now the Time
Police must fight to save a very different future – their own.
This is the story of Jane, Luke and Matthew – arguably the worst recruits
in Time Police history. Or, very possibly, three young people who might just
change everything.

Book Information:
Written by: Jodi Taylor
Published by: Headline Books
Publication date: 17/10/2019
Format: Hardcover
Price: £18.99

 

My Review

I don’t think I’ve chuckled so much while reading in a loooong time. This book was. hilarious and the fact it had time travel in it only made it a billion times better [no exaggeration used].

A bit of Dr. Who vibe with the time travel, especially with the St. Mary’s crowd, and a bit of Police Academy, meets Starship Troopers in the humor and police force side of things.

This is a story for those who love the underdogs, our three recruits don’t quite fit the mould and what’s worse, they may not be as bad as everyone thinks…or wants them to be.

There’s the political undercurrent that comes with a good police story, is there corruption, is there plotting and underhanded things going on? Read to find out!

I did enjoy how different the three recruits were, and I enjoyed the light-hearted humor mixed with complex time travel and a plot worthy of a good book.

Jane was perhaps my favorite, the start of her journey as part of the Time Police just amused me way too much to not favor her form the start.

Not to mention they get to go on some crazy adventures. Guys, there’s one involving capturing a rabbit in Australia, do you know how hard I laughed while reading that? Enough that I had to go read in the living room so I wouldn’t keep my husband up.

They go to various different periods in history, so it’s not constantly back in say the Bronze Ages or something, so it keeps it fresh and unexpected.

Despite all the hilarity, time adventures, and intrigue, there is still a good amount of heart with a story that says, maybe, just maybe it’s okay to do things a bit differently.

The three recruits find themselves closer and connected just by their differences from the other Time Police, as they are equally different to each other, but by the act that they share a common thread of wanting to do things a bit differently than the standard expectations of the Time Police. They are stronger together and they all grow into better versions of themselves as the book progresses…some take longer than others, no names mentioned.

Honestly, it was a super enjoyable read for me and I hadn’t read Jodi Taylor’s books beforehand, so, guess who has some reading to catch up on? Meeeee.

A truly entertaining and funny read, four and a half cups of coffee from moi.

Thank you to Anne Cater and Headline Books for a free copy in exchange for my honest opinion for the blog tour.

 

About the Author

Author+photo+Jodi+Taylor (1).png

Jodi Taylor is the internationally bestselling author of the Chronicles of
St Mary’s series, the story of a bunch of disaster-prone individuals who
investigate major historical events in contemporary time. Do NOT call it
time travel!
Born in Bristol and now living in Gloucester (facts both cities vigorously
deny), she spent many years with her head somewhere else, much to the
dismay of family, teachers and employers, before finally deciding to put all
that daydreaming to good use and write a novel. Nearly twenty books later,
she still has no idea what she wants to do when she grows up.

The Rest of the Tour

Doing Time Blog Tour Poster (1).jpg