Favorite SciFi Books: The Second Half Of 2019

 

These aren’t in any particular order than rating, and sometimes I enjoy a book that has a lower rating, idk, my rating system is very complicated. [ie: I don’t really know what I’m doing]

Clicking on the headline will take you to my review, and I’ve included GoodReads links if you click on the picture!

 

6. Station Fosaan – Blog Tour

Station Fosaan (Torch World, #1)

Hot_ChocolateHot_ChocolateHot_ChocolateHot_Chocolate

Earth scientists and their families stationed on the remote planet of Fosaan were promised a tropical vacation-like experience. But Fosaan, devastated from an apocalyptic event nearly three-hundred years ago, is full of lethal predators and dangerous terrain.

Earthers are forbidden to go beyond the safety zone of their settlement and must not engage the small population of reclusive Fosaanians, descendants of the survivors. Sixteen-year-old Quinn Neen plans to do both of those things.

When Quinn discovers a beautiful Fosaanian girl named Mira stealing food from his family’s living unit, he soon learns Earth’s government may not be telling the whole truth about Fosaan and the cause of the past disaster.

There are some who to restore the planet to its former glory by any means necessary. Quinn finds himself caught between his loyalty to his own people and what is right for Mira and her people.

Before he can decide what to do, the scientists are taken captive, stranding the young Earthers on Fosaan.

Quinn must go from renegade to leader and convince Mira to become an ally in a fight against an enemy whose very existence threatens their lives and the future of those both on Fosaan and at home.

 

5. A Boy and His Dog at the End of the World

A Boy and His Dog at the End of the World

Hot_ChocolateHot_ChocolateHot_ChocolateHot_ChocolateHot_Chocolate

When a beloved family dog is stolen, her owner sets out on a life-changing journey through the ruins of our world to bring her back in this fiercely compelling tale of survival, courage, and hope. Perfect for readers of Station Eleven and The Girl With All the Gifts.

My name’s Griz. My childhood wasn’t like yours. I’ve never had friends, and in my whole life I’ve not met enough people to play a game of football.

My parents told me how crowded the world used to be, but we were never lonely on our remote island. We had each other, and our dogs.

Then the thief came.

There may be no law left except what you make of it. But if you steal my dog, you can at least expect me to come after you.

Because if we aren’t loyal to the things we love, what’s the point?

 

4. A House of Rage and Sorrow

A House of Rage and Sorrow (The Celestial Trilogy, #2)

Hot_ChocolateHot_ChocolateHot_ChocolateHot_ChocolateHot_Chocolate

“Maybe it’s time the great House of Rey came to an end. After all, what are we now? Just a house of rage and sorrow.”

Esmae once wanted nothing more than to help her golden brother win the crown of Kali but that dream died with her best friend. Alexi broke her heart, and she vowed to destroy him for it. And with her sentient warship Titania beside her, how can she possibly fail?

As gods, beasts, and kingdoms choose sides, Alexi seeks out a weapon more devastating than even Titania. Past lives threaten the present. Old enemies claim their due. And Esmae cannot outrun the ghosts and the questions that haunt her. What really happened to her father? What was the third boon her mother asked of Amba? For in the shadows, lurking in wait, are secrets that will swallow her whole.

The House of Rey is at war. And the entire galaxy will bleed before the end. 

 

3. War Girls

War Girls (War Girls, #1)

Hot_ChocolateHot_ChocolateHot_ChocolateHot_Chocolate

Two sisters are torn apart by war and must fight their way back to each other in a futuristic, Black Panther–inspired Nigeria.

The year is 2172. Climate change and nuclear disasters have rendered much of earth unlivable. Only the lucky ones have escaped to space colonies in the sky.

In a war-torn Nigeria, battles are fought using flying, deadly mechs and soldiers are outfitted with bionic limbs and artificial organs meant to protect them from the harsh, radiation-heavy climate. Across the nation, as the years-long civil war wages on, survival becomes the only way of life.

Two sisters, Onyii and Ify, dream of more. Their lives have been marked by violence and political unrest. Still, they dream of peace, of hope, of a future together.

And they’re willing to fight an entire war to get there.

 

 

2. Doing Time

Doing Time (The Time Police #1)

Hot_ChocolateHot_ChocolateHot_ChocolateHot_ChocolateHot_Chocolate

Introducing The Time Police, the brand-new series byinternational bestselling author,Jodi Taylor – an irresistiblespinoff fromthe much-loved Chronicles of St Mary’s series. Perfect reading for fans of Doctor Who, Ben Aaronovitch and Jasper Fforde.
At some time in the future, the secret of time-travel became available to all. Chaos ensued as people sought to take advantage. Because there will always be nutters who want to change history…
And so the Time Police were formed. Internationally sanctioned thugs whose task it was to keep the timeline straight by any and all means possible. And they succeeded. The Time Wars are over. The Time Police won. But who will win the peace?
Doing Time follows three hapless new Time Police recruits – Jane, Luke and Matthew – as they try to navigate their first year on the beat. It’s all going to be fine. Obviously.

 

 

1. Trail of Lightning

Trail of Lightning (The Sixth World Book 1)

Hot_ChocolateHot_ChocolateHot_ChocolateHot_ChocolateHot_Chocolate

While most of the world has drowned beneath the sudden rising waters of a climate apocalypse, Dinétah (formerly the Navajo reservation) has been reborn. The gods and heroes of legend walk the land, but so do monsters.

Maggie Hoskie is a Dinétah monster hunter, a supernaturally gifted killer. When a small town needs help finding a missing girl, Maggie is their last—and best—hope. But what Maggie uncovers about the monster is much larger and more terrifying than anything she could imagine.

Maggie reluctantly enlists the aid of Kai Arviso, an unconventional medicine man, and together they travel to the rez to unravel clues from ancient legends, trade favors with tricksters, and battle dark witchcraft in a patchwork world of deteriorating technology.

As Maggie discovers the truth behind the disappearances, she will have to confront her past—if she wants to survive.

Welcome to the Sixth World.

[This was released this year in the UK]

 

 

A Boy and His Dog at the End of the World Review

 

ratingiconratingiconratingiconratingiconratingicon

Synopsis:
My name’s Griz. I’ve never been to school, I’ve never had friends, in my whole life I’ev not met enough people to play a game of football. My parents told me how crowded the world used to be, before all the people went away, but we weree never lonely on our remote island. We had each other, and our dogs.
Then the thief came.
He told stories of the deserted towns and cities beyond our horizons. I liked him – until I woke to find he had stolen my dog. So I chased him out into the ruins of the world.
I just want to get my dog back, but I found more than I ever imagined was possible. More about how the world ended. More about what my family’s real story is. More about what really matters. 
GoodReads

Purchase Links

Amazon US | Amazon UK

** Please be aware that the Amazon links provided above are Affiliated Links, they are of no cost to you, I simply get a certain small % commission if you use my links to purchase the books **

 

My Review

This book was phenomenal, Griz is so innocent and naive and reading the character development felt like an honour. This is an epic journey and the future is so atmospheric that you imagine you are there with Griz and the findings and explorations are enthralling to read.

Right out the gate, you can tell this book is going to try and break your heart in record time. And of course, it does. But as always when I love a book that breaks my heart, it does it in the best of ways.

Fletcher has a truly transportive style of writing, there was something that made it haunting in the space between the written words. The vast expanse that is described just seems like something that you can conjure up when you think of say an abandoned theme park, but then to think of it on a global scale, that’s where the haunting part comes in and Fletcher doesn’t hold back any punches with it.

Griz is easy to connect with, especially given the narrative, with using the book as a diary it’s like Griz is speaking to you personally the whole time and you are seeing everything through his interpretation.

The plot twist was also so incredible if not one of the best plot twists that I have ever read. Why? BECAUSE I DEFINITELY DID NOT SEE THAT COMING!

Talk about just throwing the reader through a loop!

And the ending was perfection, truly, I just held this book after I finished and let it all wash over me. The haunting world of a future where infertility is our main downfall, the isolation that still includes adventure, and the heart of it all, Griz and of course Griz’s love for a dog [or two].

I highly recommend this book to anyone interested in this emotional and captivating tale! Thank you to Orbit Books UK For the copy, I’ll have a full review posted on my blog at a later date.