WWW Wednesday

It’s time for the WWW Wednesday meme brought to you all by Taking on a World of Words

img_1384-0

What Are You Currently Reading?

GoodReads Blurb: 

From the author of the page-turning domestic suspense Best Day Ever, comes another gripping novel of psychological suspense set in an upscale Southern California community, for fans of B.A. Paris and Shari Lapena.

The perfect home. The perfect family. The perfect lie.

Jane Harris lives in a sparkling home in an oceanfront gated community in Orange County. It’s a place that seems too beautiful to be touched by sadness. But exactly one year ago, Jane’s oldest daughter, Mary, died in a tragic accident and Jane has been grief-stricken ever since. Lost in a haze of anti-depressants, she’s barely even left the house. Now that’s all about to change.

It’s time for Jane to reclaim her life and her family. Jane’s husband, David, has planned a memorial service for Mary and three days later, their youngest daughter, Betsy, graduates high school. Yet as Jane reemerges into the world, it’s clear her family has changed without her. Her husband has been working long days—and nights—at the office. Her daughter seems distant, even secretive. And her beloved Mary was always such a good girl—dutiful and loving. But does someone know more about Mary, and about her last day, than they’ve revealed?

The bonds between mothers and daughters, and husbands and wives should never be broken. But you never know how far someone will go to keep a family together… 

I was so lucky to have Wunderkind PR send me this book, it is a really cool cover but more than that, it is an AMAZING read so far. There is something creepy to it and more than that Jane is not like the usual MC you get in these novels and I am LOVING it so far. Like I could barely put it down after I started it this afternoon but then I realized…I needed to post haha.

 

What Did You Recently Finish Reading?

 

GoodReads Blurb:

Kent Fisher gets more than he bargained for when Detective Inspector Ashley Goodman enlists his help with a ten year old murder. She’s on a mission and needs a big case to put her career back on track. 

And they don’t come much bigger than Miles Birchill, Downland’s wealthiest and most divisive resident. 

Not for the first time, Kent has doubts about the case, forcing him to make choices. But who do you trust when everyone has something to hide? 

Caught in the middle, he has no alternative but to solve the murder, unaware that his every move is being watched. 

The Kent Fisher novels offer a fresh and contemporary reworking of the classic whodunit and murder mysteries of authors like Agatha Christie. 

This was a really fun and quick read, I’d say more but it’s my turn for its Blog Tour tomorrow so…you’ll just have to wait and see.

 

What Do You Think You’ll Read Next?

GoodReads Blurb:

The second book in a series where your favorite literary characters come to life, inspired by the timeless classic, Little Women!

There’s no one better than the boy next door. At least not according to Aurora Campbell, fourteen, who has been in love with Tobias May since their very first sandbox kiss. The problem is, he’s in love with her older sister, Merrilee. And Merri is already dating one of his best friends.

Rory is learning all about pining as her class reads The Great Gatsby, a book she doesn’t find “great” at all. Also not great—her GPA, something she needs to fix, quickly, if she’d like to apply for the chance to spend a week studying art with her hero in New York City over winter break. But when Ms. Gregoire assigns her to read Little Women for extra credit, Rory discovers more than she expected—both about herself and Toby. Maybe she wasn’t in love with the boy next door. . . but the boy next story.

Love is complicated, and it’s all about to get even trickier for Rory at Reginald R. Hero Prep . . . where with the help of one quirky English teacher, students’ fantasies come true, often with surprising consequences.

Another Blog Tour, remember I signed up for quite a few of these for the summer, and I’m really excited to read this one. Most reviews for June will be Blog Tour posts and memes/tags and original content, not too many regular reviews of mine thrown in because I don’t want book reviews to be the only thing you all see on my blog. It’s important to me not to just flood you all with too much of the same.

 

WWW Wednesday

I know. It’s Sunday, but this isn’t my fault for once, things came up, today’s post is scratched, so I give you this and wonder why I’m not better prepared for the unexpected.

So.

It’s time for the WWW Wednesday meme brought to you all by Taking on a World of Words

img_1384-0

What Are You Currently Reading?

GoodReads Blurb: 

High seas adventure, blackmail, and meddling gods meet in Dark Shores, the first novel in a new YA fantasy series.

In a world divided by meddlesome gods and treacherous oceans, only the Maarin possess the knowledge to cross the Endless Seas. But they have one mandate: East must never meet West.

A PIRATE WITH A WILL OF IRON

Teriana is the second mate of the Quincense and heir to the Maarin Triumvirate. Her people are born of the seas and the keepers of its secrets, but when her closest friend is forced into an unwanted betrothal, Teriana breaks her people’s mandate so her friend might escape—a choice with devastating consequences. 

A SOLDIER WITH A SECRET

Marcus is the commander of the Thirty-Seventh, the notorious legion that has led the Celendor Empire to conquer the entire East. The legion is his family, but even they don’t know the truth he’s been hiding since childhood. It’s a secret he’ll do anything to protect, no matter how much it costs him – and the world. 

A DANGEROUS QUEST

When an Empire senator discovers the existence of the Dark Shores, he captures Teriana’s crew and threatens to reveal Marcus’s secret unless they sail in pursuit of conquest, forcing the two into an unlikely—and unwilling—alliance. They unite for the sake of their families, but both must decide how far they are willing to go, and how much they are willing to sacrifice.

I read 50% in like two small sittings, I’m finding it a really fun read and it comes out on the 7th in the US! (In the UK we’ll be waiting until June 1st!) I’m loving the mix of Roman soldiers and pirates so far the blurb is true to its word and I can’t wait to see what happens next. I’m hoping to finish this later tonight.

 

What Did You Recently Finish Reading?

 

GoodReads Blurb:

Being one of the most formidable archangels with the power to end the world doesn’t serve you well if you don’t know how to use it.

Thrown into a battle of courts and factions, tangled in a web of intrigues and palatial games, naïve Ariel is surrounded by powerful angels, chasing their own agendas.

There’s no one she can trust. Everyone stands to gain something from her death.

To avoid the bloody battle that Baza brought to her door at Uras, Ariel retreats back to Apkallu (Earth) to find her sister, but the Heavenly battles and intrigues she flees follow her, as Baza’s immense hold on Apkallu forces Ariel and Rafe to make uncomfortable choices.

Ariel’s fight for survival is far from over and it looks like it’s going to be a deadly one. 

Tuesday is my day for the tour for this book so you’ll have to wait until then to hear my thoughts. I read its predecessor Heavenward as well and plan on giving my thoughts on it in the tour post. A solid series for something quick and enjoyable with pretty decent pacing!

 

What Do You Think You’ll Read Next?

GoodReads Blurb: 

As the consort of the Prince of the Vampiri, Saphrona resolves not to lose her identity in Gideon’s shadowy world. Though she feels ever more drawn to him and sympathizes with his people’s struggle to emulate human compassion, she refuses to allow anything to threaten her autonomy. 

Gideon longs for Saphrona’s love, but he is reluctant to reveal the full reality of their new relationship, for fear it will drive an irrevocable wedge between them before he has a chance to win her heart. When Saphrona discovers his omission, it shatters her trust in him. 

Heartbroken, Gideon risks self-destruction to prove to Saphrona that her free will is sacred to him. Even as his gamble leads to a revelation that will bring them forever closer, the consequences of such a risk set the Followers on the path of war with Antonia and tragic betrayal in House Bloodstone.

I finally get to read book 2 of this trilogy by the talented Emery Ayres! I’ve been itching to get to it but wanted to get some other May reads done first.

I guess you could say I’m in a mini slump, but it’s not so much because I’ve lost interest rather than we’ve been super busy. I’m not too worried about it…yet…I also think that a couple of months of a scheduled TBR was okay but I can’t handle it all the time so I’ll be going a bit rogue this month aside form the books I’m reading for blog tours!

Toodles!

 

Spring Reading List

Hey guys, another BESpring19 post!

AJ had a neat concept for what our Spring lists were like, so here’s today’s prompt done spectacularly by Sam

[Thank you to Sam & Clo for putting this event together!]

If you’ve perused my site you’ll notice a ‘To-Read’ Page. You’ll also have noticed I haven’t read anything on that page because I got over eager with NetGalley and Review Pit and I am now trying to push through those before returning to those books. Whoops. So, instead of just copying and pasting that list I’m going to just show you my April and May eARCs list that I have written up in my journal!

*RP=Review Pit, A=From Author (or Publisher), BT=Blog Tour, This=Read

April eARC Order
1. The Crying Machine
2. KAEROU Time to go Home (A)
3. Forever People (BT)
4. The Negatives (BT)
5. Crown of Feathers
6. Tangle’s Game
7. Dark Shores
8. Heavenward (BT)
9. Hallow (BT)
10. Becoming Mrs. Lewis
11. The Ice House
12. Hearthfire (A)
13. One? (A)
14. Magic or Die (RP)
15. Under Ordshaw (A)
16. The Path Keeper

April Regular Books
1. Red Sister
2. Grey Sister
3. Holy Sister [Digitally Gifted to me from the publishers via NetGalley!]

May eARC Order (thus far)
1. The Nightingale’s Sonata
2. The Red Labyrinth
3. In the Shadow of the Wolves
4. Tea House Detective
5. Kingdom of Exiles
6. Akela
7. The Last Tsar’s Dragons
8. Dragon’s Trail (Outworlders #1) (RP)
9. New Magic (Outworlders #2) (RP)
10. The Spec Set (A)
11. Imminent Dawn (RP)
12. The White Raven (RP)
13. Marjorie Diaz’s Unfortunate Introduction to Magical High Society (Marjorie Diaz #1) (RP)
14. Bone Diggers (RP)
15. Tear You Apart (RP)
16. The Ballet Lover 
17. The Swan Keeper

That Brings us to a total of….36.

…Yea, we’ll see how that goes!

Have you read any of these? Are any on your list, and if not, what’s on your Spring reading list?

I’m off to go laugh-cry as I look at the list again.