WWW Wednesday

It’s time for the WWW Wednesday meme brought to you all by Taking on a World of Words

img_1384-0

What Are You Currently Reading?

GoodReads Blurb: 

From the author of the page-turning domestic suspense Best Day Ever, comes another gripping novel of psychological suspense set in an upscale Southern California community, for fans of B.A. Paris and Shari Lapena.

The perfect home. The perfect family. The perfect lie.

Jane Harris lives in a sparkling home in an oceanfront gated community in Orange County. It’s a place that seems too beautiful to be touched by sadness. But exactly one year ago, Jane’s oldest daughter, Mary, died in a tragic accident and Jane has been grief-stricken ever since. Lost in a haze of anti-depressants, she’s barely even left the house. Now that’s all about to change.

It’s time for Jane to reclaim her life and her family. Jane’s husband, David, has planned a memorial service for Mary and three days later, their youngest daughter, Betsy, graduates high school. Yet as Jane reemerges into the world, it’s clear her family has changed without her. Her husband has been working long days—and nights—at the office. Her daughter seems distant, even secretive. And her beloved Mary was always such a good girl—dutiful and loving. But does someone know more about Mary, and about her last day, than they’ve revealed?

The bonds between mothers and daughters, and husbands and wives should never be broken. But you never know how far someone will go to keep a family together… 

I was so lucky to have Wunderkind PR send me this book, it is a really cool cover but more than that, it is an AMAZING read so far. There is something creepy to it and more than that Jane is not like the usual MC you get in these novels and I am LOVING it so far. Like I could barely put it down after I started it this afternoon but then I realized…I needed to post haha.

 

What Did You Recently Finish Reading?

 

GoodReads Blurb:

Kent Fisher gets more than he bargained for when Detective Inspector Ashley Goodman enlists his help with a ten year old murder. She’s on a mission and needs a big case to put her career back on track. 

And they don’t come much bigger than Miles Birchill, Downland’s wealthiest and most divisive resident. 

Not for the first time, Kent has doubts about the case, forcing him to make choices. But who do you trust when everyone has something to hide? 

Caught in the middle, he has no alternative but to solve the murder, unaware that his every move is being watched. 

The Kent Fisher novels offer a fresh and contemporary reworking of the classic whodunit and murder mysteries of authors like Agatha Christie. 

This was a really fun and quick read, I’d say more but it’s my turn for its Blog Tour tomorrow so…you’ll just have to wait and see.

 

What Do You Think You’ll Read Next?

GoodReads Blurb:

The second book in a series where your favorite literary characters come to life, inspired by the timeless classic, Little Women!

There’s no one better than the boy next door. At least not according to Aurora Campbell, fourteen, who has been in love with Tobias May since their very first sandbox kiss. The problem is, he’s in love with her older sister, Merrilee. And Merri is already dating one of his best friends.

Rory is learning all about pining as her class reads The Great Gatsby, a book she doesn’t find “great” at all. Also not great—her GPA, something she needs to fix, quickly, if she’d like to apply for the chance to spend a week studying art with her hero in New York City over winter break. But when Ms. Gregoire assigns her to read Little Women for extra credit, Rory discovers more than she expected—both about herself and Toby. Maybe she wasn’t in love with the boy next door. . . but the boy next story.

Love is complicated, and it’s all about to get even trickier for Rory at Reginald R. Hero Prep . . . where with the help of one quirky English teacher, students’ fantasies come true, often with surprising consequences.

Another Blog Tour, remember I signed up for quite a few of these for the summer, and I’m really excited to read this one. Most reviews for June will be Blog Tour posts and memes/tags and original content, not too many regular reviews of mine thrown in because I don’t want book reviews to be the only thing you all see on my blog. It’s important to me not to just flood you all with too much of the same.

 

5 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday”

  1. I have a really weird kind of insta-want for books with covers involving water, which is interesting because a lot of them seem to be adult contemporary and/or thrillers which I don’t love 😅 but ooooooh, from your description I’m definitely intrigued.

    the Bookish Boyfriends series was not on my radar somehow, but wow it sounds right up my alley! the cover is so bright and fun, and the synopsis sounds fascinating – looking forward to your review!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m really hopeful I’ll love the Bookish boyfriend book, not to mention I need a small break from my thrillers and mysteries and The Favorite Daughter is really unlike the others, I only put it down last night because it was getting too late lol

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I am off to go and read your review of No More Lies so I get to see more about it soon! Enjoy these current reads of yours x

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s