The Smuggler’s Daughter – Blog Tour

The Smuggler’s Daughter: Heartwrenching and gripping historical fiction full of mystery and romance from the author of bestsellers The Girl in the Picture and The Secret Letter by [Kerry Barrett]

                                       coffee8coffee8coffee8

GoodReads:

Only she knows the truth. Only she can save them.

1799
Emily Moon lives with her mother in an inn on a clifftop in the darkest reaches of Cornwall. After her father mysteriously disappears, her mother finds solace at the bottom of a bottle, and the only way to keep afloat is to turn a blind eye to the smugglers who send signals from the clifftops. But Emily knows that the smugglers killed her father to ensure his silence, and she will not let his murder go unpunished…

Present day
After a case ends in tragedy, police officer Phoebe Bellingham flees to Cornwall for a summer of respite. But rather than the sunny Cornwall of her dreams, she finds herself on storm-beaten cliffs, surrounded by stories of ghosts and smugglers – and the mysterious Emily Moon, who vanished without a trace over two centuries ago. As rain lashes down around her, Phoebe determines to find the truth behind the rumours – but what she uncovers will put herself in danger too…

A haunting and moving timeslip novel perfect for fans of The Girl in the Letter, The Forgotten Village and The Witchfinder’s Sister.

My Review

Mystery? Check.

Historical Fiction? Check.

Timeslip/Time Parallel? Check.

This book had the formula to be an enjoyable read and Barrett did a good job in making that formula successful!

We have Emily Moon from 1799, who witnesses her father’s death and wants to try and bring justice by capturing his killer. On the flip side we have Phoebe from 2019, a detective on leave from a crushing blow at work and she finds herself in Cornwall in the very building that Emily Moon lived in.

Phoebe finds out about Emily Moon and wants to know what happened to her while Emily tries to find a way to capture the smuggler who killed her father.

Both plots were equally engaging though of course I do always love the past a tiny bit more, I still liked watching Phoebe learn about Emily and use the past to help her crack her modern day case.

The historical connection and its importance to the present’s plot really pleased me and Barrett has a wonderfully fluid writing style, it will keep you engaged and it makes the book a very quick read.

It’s one of those books I always love to help me reset after I’ve had a particularly stressful time, the sort of plot that you need the answers for and with a wonderfully satisfying ending!

I would highly recommend this to timeslip/historical fiction/mystery fans! It spans all sorts of genres lol.

Thanks so much to HQ for the eARC in exchange for my honest opinion as part of the tour, I give this book 3/5 huge cups of coffee and I’m off to recommend it to my sister now!

The Rest of the Tour

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s